Colorado Capitol Report

Senate Minority Democrats Release Committee Assignments

This Capitol Report is brought to you by:

  • community-banks-of-colorado

State Policy News

Senate Minority Democrats Release Committee Assignments

The Senate Minority Democrats have released assignments for committee memberships.  The Caucus is the last of the four legislative caucuses to release committee assignments.  The 2017 legislative session begins at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, January 11th.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                   CONTACT: David Pourshoushtari                                                 November 30, 2016                                                     303-704-2834
[email protected]


Denver, CO — This morning, the Colorado Senate Democratic Caucus announced their committee assignments for the first session of Colorado’s 71st General Assembly.

Agriculture, Natural Resources, and EnergyAppropriations
Senator Kerry Donovan (Vail)Senator Leroy Garcia (Pueblo)
Senator-elect Steve Fenberg (Boulder)Senator Andy Kerr (Lakewood)
Senator-elect Rhonda Fields (Aurora)Senator-elect Dominick Moreno (Westminster)
Senator Leroy Garcia (Pueblo)
Senator Matt Jones (Louisville)Education
Senator Michael Merrifield (Colorado Springs)
Business, Labor and TechnologySenator Nancy Todd (Aurora)
Senator Cheri Jahn (Wheat Ridge)Senator-elect Rachel Zenzinger (Arvada)
Senator Andy Kerr (Lakewood)
Senator-elect Angela Williams (Denver)Health and Human Services
 Senator Irene Aguilar (Denver)
FinanceSenator John Kefalas (Fort Collins)
Senator-elect Lois Court (Denver)
Senator Andy Kerr (Lakewood)Local Government
 Senator Kerry Donovan (Vail)
JudiciarySenator John Kefalas (Fort Collins)
Senator-elect Rhonda Fields (Aurora)
Senator-elect Daniel Kagan (Littleton)Transporation 
 Senator-elect Steve Fenberg (Boulder)
State, Veterans, and Military AffairsSenator Nancy Todd (Aurora)
Senator-elect Steve Fenberg (Boulder)
Senator Michael Merrifield (Colorado Springs)

Changes Made by OEDIT to Current Job Growth Incentive Tax Credit Program

Please be advised that the Colorado Office of Economic Development (OEDIT) and the Economic Development Commission (EDC) have adopted changes to the current Job Growth Incentive Tax Credit Program.  The Department will begin implementing these changes in 2017 for companies that apply for the incentive.  Any projects that are already participating in discussions with OEDIT will not be affected.

A list of the new changes and rationale have been provided by the Department to CACI and are outlined below:

  • Previously, the OEDIT has recommended to the EDC that it award tax credits primarily based on projected net new jobs and salaries using an 8 year performance period. In order to make the JGITC program more effective across Colorado, the length of the performance period and amount of credits awarded will now be calibrated based on the number of points earned by each applicant. [See scoring matrix];
  • An applicant will receive additional points for project features that will strategically enhance Colorado’s economy.  Such features include things like filling strategic gaps in the supply chain, locating in an economically distressed area, and supporting emerging/high growth sector segments;
  • An applicant will have points deducted if it is a close competitor to an existing Colorado company, if it is a pure relocation (versus an expansion), or the EDC has substantial questions about the company’s financial situation;
  • The new process is being implemented on a trial basis and can be further adjusted by the EDC if it does not work as intended.  OEDIT staff expects that many incentive awards will still have eight (8) year performance periods;
  • Overall, OEDIT and the EDC believe that this scoring process will enhance the Program and better serve Colorado.

Please contact Loren Furman at [email protected] if you have questions/concerns regarding these changes to the JGITC Program so that she can provide that feedback to the Department staff.